The Love Languages of God

If you’ve read the book, you probably know all about the 5 love languages. Either way, it’s incredibly helpful information for interacting with our children or spouses or even with friends.

But have you ever stopped to consider the 5 love languages in relation to God? It hit me the other day when I realized that He enjoys quality time with me just as much as I enjoy it with Him. That thought spiraled, and I realized that God loves in ALL the love languages.

God loves in every love language!

-Becki Rogers

Think about it:

  1. Words of Affirmation: He loves to speak His thoughts into our lives. He loves to tell us how He sees us. He longs to be our primary Source of affirmation.
  2. Quality Time: Just like quality time with my kids or my husband looks different from the quality time you enjoy with your family, your quality time with God may look different than mine. But the point is: He LOVES it.
  3. Acts of Service: We don’t need to look further than the cross to see that God is ultimate servant. As Romans 8 reminds us, “Since he did not spare even his own Son but gave him up for us all, won’t he also give us everything else?” (Romans 8:32)
  4. Gifts: This is a no-brainer. EVERY good gift comes from His hand. He loves to bless His kids.
  5. Physical Touch: I know what you’re thinking. This must be the one exception, right? But let me remind you of Jesus—God incarnate—pressed against crowds of hurting people, begging Him for a healing touch. Or what about the Savior Who welcomed children into His lap and blessed them? He longs to touch our lives with His healing touch even now.

God loves in every language. He’ll do anything it takes to reach our hearts. He left the 99 to rescue me, and He’ll do the same for you if you let Him. In whatever love language you understand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *